Matomo Pixel

Property Law in Thailand - Juslaws & Consult

不动产法
购买泰国公寓

不动产法 购买泰国公寓

不动产法 Juslaws & Consult律所


在泰国购买公寓对许多外国人来说是很有吸引力的选择,虽然泰国不动产法禁止外国人在泰国拥有土地,至少根据祖屋大厦法有合法途径获得公寓产权,Juslaws&Consult律所将为您详细说明。

什么是公寓 Condo / Condominium


或称共管式公寓,有别于酒店式公寓(apartment),是不动产的一种,分为几个单元,各户拥有独立产权,由共有的公共区域所环绕。

通过观看或参观建筑物,无法将共管式公寓(Condo / Condominium)与酒店式公寓(apartment)区分开。技术角度来讲,公寓是一个单独的家庭单元外加公共区域以及他们所位于的土地的集合体。通过契约、限制和额外的规定,单元产权所有者有条件地分享公寓空间。具体主要受内部管理规定以及泰国公寓法案法的监管。内部管理规则规定了公寓大厦的运行方式,即每个单元不能用作商业或公司地址,租赁限制和与宠物有关的事项。

泰国公寓管理法案


物权法 —— 泰国共有两种类型的住宅楼,即据《公寓管理法案》登记并获得公寓牌照(condo license)的公寓(condo),以及未根据该法案登记的酒店式公寓(apratment)。其中,仅前者能够依法登记并从土地局获得具有完全个人土地所有权的地契证书(title deed)。

外籍人士在泰国购买公寓(condo)


在泰购买公寓(condo)无国籍限制——只要符合公寓管理法第19条对公寓所有权的要求,任何可以合法进入泰国的外国人(无签证登等级的要求)都可以购买和拥有公寓单元,根据该19条规定,任何外籍自然人或被法律视为外国人的法人(以下统称“外国人”)只要符合下列标准,都可以拥有公寓单元的所有权:

  • 被泰国移民法允许在泰国居住的外国人(1);
  • 根据投资促进法案被允许进入泰国的外国人(2);
  • 依据泰国法律注册为法人的外国人(3);
  • 被全国执行委员会公告为外国人,并获得投资促进法案的优惠证书的法人(4);
  • 外国自然人或被相关法律认定为外国人的法人,带外汇入境,或从在泰国开设的离岸账户提取资金,或从外币账户提取资金(5)。

通常情况下的外国人属于上述第(5)种情况,也就意味着法律要求其公寓(condo)购买价格必须以外币转入泰国,并由泰国境内的持牌金融机构改为泰铢。

49%的外国人所有权配额


当前,鉴于外国人个人有资格获得公寓(condo)的所有权,如果公寓单元可以以外国人配额出售,他就能以自己的名义购买这个公寓单元。这意味着在公寓大楼内,不超过49%的单位可以出售给外国人,另外至少51%的公寓单元必须由泰籍拥有的。

有鉴于此,在购买现有或转售公寓时,卖方应当提供公寓法人签发的保证书,以保证该公寓单元属于49%的配额内。仍在建设中的公寓不适用此规定,直到施工完成和公寓法人成立之时。

什么是FET表格?


FET即外汇交易(Foreign Exchange Transaction),俗称“Thor Thor 3”。该表要求在土地局登记所有权。任何泰国境内的银行等金融机构处理超过50,000美元(或等值的任何其他货币)的外汇交易必须根据投资促进(BOI)银行法规准备一份FET表格,并将此交易报告给泰国银行(Bank of Thailand)。对于购买公寓(Condo)的外国人,此表格的原件及他/她作为接收人或外币汇款人的姓名是土地部门所有权登记的必要文件,以证明他/她遵守了泰国公寓管理法第19条的有关规定。

而对于少于50,000美元的外汇兑换,银行不需要准备也不会发行FET表格。在这种情况下,外国人可以要求从银行转账外币和兑换泰铢的确认函。此信函包含与FET表格相同的信息,也可用于在土地局注册。

出售和购买协议


公寓的买卖协议详细规定了公寓买方和卖方的责任。它包括议定价格和付款节点,转让日期,公寓的确切信息,转让费和税款的责任,保证以及有关尽职调查的事项。标准销售合同必须符合公寓管理法和消费者保护法。所有权的转移在省或地方土地部门的分支机构进行,在转让时签署第二份官方土地办公室销售协议,并且必须支付转让费和税款。

转让费和税款


在泰国转让公寓单元涉及多种税费。例如转让费(所有权登记费),印花税,预扣税和相关的特定营业税。在转售中这些成本如何在买方和卖方之间分配取决于他们在买卖协议中达成的协议,并且可以从约定买方支付全部费用到约定卖方支付全部费用。在购买期房时,卖方(开发商)可以根据消费者保护法将最多2%所有权登记费的一半转嫁给买方。泰国没有一般的财产税,有很低的当地维护税和土地和房屋税。其中,土地和房屋税不适用于公寓。 然而,如果公寓单元用于住宅用途,据已被批准计划可引入更为一般的财产税年税率,即评估价值的0.1%/年。

公寓单元的地契


所有权登记后,新所有者将获得该公寓单元的所有权契约。公寓大楼内的每个公寓单元都拥有土地部门颁发的所有权证书。地契必须包含以下信息:土地的坐标和定位以及公寓的土地面积,公寓的坐标和定位,面积和显示长宽高的平面图,共同所有权的比例和投票权,拥有公寓单元的人的姓名,权利和法律行为的登记指引,主管官员的签名,职位和印章。公寓所有权和地契的转让统一在土地部门进行。

所需文件概述


在购买现有或转售公寓时,卖方必须提供由公寓法人签发的保证书,该公寓属于该公寓49%的外国所有权配额,以及一封信函说明该单元未遗留任何向公寓法人的欠费。另外还需要FET表格、身份证或护照、结婚或离婚登记证(如果适用)和土地办公室“Tor Dor 21”授权书(如果您不想亲自去土地局转让所有权)。

小结


如您需要更多有关购买泰国土地、别墅或不动产尽职调查的信息,请随时与我们Juslaws & Consultant律所曼谷办公室或普吉办公室联络。

联络我们

您的名字

您的手机号

您的邮箱

曼谷 普吉

您的留言

Security Code

Icon - Back to top

Property Law in Thailand - Juslaws & Consult

Property Law
Buying a Condo in Thailand

Buying a condo in Thailand - Condominium Act

Property Law Juslaws & Consult


Buying a condo in Thailand is an attractive option for many foreign nationals, although Thai property law prohibits a foreigner from owning land in Thailand, there are legal ways to at least buy a condominium as there are less nationality restrictions under the Condominium Act regarding ownership and Juslaws & Consult can show you how.

What Is A Condo / Condominium


A condominium, usually shortened to condo, is a type of real estate, divided into several units, that are each separately owned, surrounded by common areas jointly owned. Residential condos are frequently constructed as apartment buildings but unlike apartments, which are leased by their tenants, condo units are owned outright. Additionally, the owners of the individual units also collectively own the common areas of the property such as hallways, walkways, pools, gyms, laundry rooms etc. as well as common utilities and amenities such as elevators. The common areas, amenities and utilities are managed collectively by the owners through their association, such as a homeowner association, in Thailand called the "Condominium Juristic Person". The difference between an apartment complex and a condo is purely legal.

There is no way to differentiate a condo from an apartment simply by looking at it or visiting the building. Technically, a condo is a collection of individual home units and common areas along with the land upon which they sit. Condos have conditions, covenants, restrictions and often additional rules that govern how the individual unit owners are to share the space. They are mainly regulated by their internal rules and regulations as well as the Thailand Condominium Act. The internal rules regulate how the building is run, i.e. that the units can't be used as business or company address, rental restrictions and matters relating pets.

The Condominium Act


Property Law - there are two types of residential buildings in Thailand, condos registered under the Condominium Act with a condominium license and apartments not registered under the Condominium Act. Only condos registered under condominium laws and registered with the Land Department offer full individual ownership with a government issued ownership title (title deed). The Condominium Act specifies for example the procedure and requirements for a multi-unit apartment building to be licensed as a condo. The latest Condominium Act passed legislation in 2008.

Foreigners Buying A Condo in Thailand


Regarding Foreigners buying a condo in Thailand there are no restrictions on nationality – every foreigner who may enter Thailand legally (there are no visa-class requirements) may buy and own a condo unit as long as he personally qualifies for ownership under section 19 of the Condominium Act. Section 19 claims that foreigners as well as juristic persons regarded by law as foreigners may hold ownership of a condo unit if they meet the following criteria:

  • Aliens permitted to have residence in the Kingdom of Thailand under the Immigration Law (1)
  • Aliens permitted to enter into the Kingdom of Thailand under the investment promotion law (2)
  • Juristic persons that are registered as juristic persons under the Thai Law (3)
  • Juristic persons which are aliens under the announcement of the National Executive Council and have obtained promotion certificate under investment promotion law (4)
  • Aliens or juristic persons regarded by law as aliens who have brought in foreign currency into the Kingdom of Thailand or withdraw money from Thai Bank account of the person who has residence outside the Kingdom or withdraw money from a foreign currency account (5).

Usually foreigners fall under Section 19 (5) which means, that the purchase price for the condo must have been transferred into Thailand as foreign currency and changed into Thai Baht by a licensed financial institution inside Thailand.

49% Foreigner Ownership Quota


Given a foreigner personally qualifies for ownership, he can still only buy a condo under his own name if the condo unit can be sold under the foreigner quota. That means that within a condo building not more 49% of all units can be sold to foreigners, at least 51 % of the condo building must be Thai owned. Between April 1999 and April 2004, as a temporary measure in an attempt to reduce the number of empty and newly developed condos for sale, foreigners could under certain restrictions own up to 100 % of the units in one single condo building.

This has since without any exceptions been amended back to 49 % of the total floor area. So currently a foreigner may only have full ownership in a condo unit in a proportion not higher than 49 % of the total space of all units in that condo at the time the application for condo registration is being lodged. When buying an existing or re-sale condo, the seller must supply a letter of guarantee issued by the condominium juristic person that the condo unit falls within the 49 % - ownership quota of the condo building. That does not apply to condos that are still under construction. In this case, the condominium juristic person will be established not until after the construction has been completed and then will issue this letter of guarantee. This means that during construction, the seller/developer is not obliged to issue such letter.

What Is A FET Form?


FET stands for, Foreign Exchange Transaction, previously known as "Thor Thor 3". The FET form is required to registering the ownership at the Land Department. An authorized financial institution inside Thailand dealing with the exchange of foreign currency exceeding $50,000 USD (or an equivalent in any other currency) must under BOI banking regulations prepare a FET form and report this transaction to the Bank of Thailand. For foreigners buying a condo, an original copy of this form with their name either as the receiver or the sender of the foreign currency is a required document for registration of the ownership at the Land Department as it is the proof of the compliance by the foreigner with section 19 of the Condominium Act.

For the exchange of a foreign currency in amounts less than $ 50.000 the bank does not need to prepare a FET form and therefore will not issue one. In this case foreigners can request a confirmation letter for the transfer of foreign currency and exchange into Thai Baht from the bank. This letter contains the same information as the FET form and can also be used to register at the Land Department.

Sales And Purchase Agreement


The sale and purchase agreement for a condo specifies in detail the responsibilities of the buyer and the seller of the condo. It covers among others the agreed price and payment schedule, transfer date, exact details of the condo, responsibilities for the transfer fees and taxes, warranties and matters relating to due diligence. The standard sale contracts must comply with the Condominium Act and consumer protection laws. Transfer of the ownership takes place at the provincial or local Land Department's branch office and at the time of transfer a second official Thai script land office sale agreement is signed and transfer fees and taxes must be paid.

Transfer Fees And Taxes


There are a variety of taxes and fees involved when transferring a condo unit in Thailand. For example transfer fee (ownership registration fee), stamp duty, withholding tax and if applicable specific business tax. How these costs are divided between the buyer and the seller in a re-sale depends on what they agreed on in the sale and purchase agreement and can vary from buyer pays it all to seller pays it all. When buying a condo in development, the seller (developer) can due to consumer protection laws only pass on up to half of the 2% ownership registration fee to the buyer. There are no general property taxes in Thailand. There is a very low local maintenance tax and a land and house tax. Land and house tax does not apply to condos. There are however approved plans to introduce a more general yearly property tax rate of 0,1% of the appraised value if a condo unit is used for residential purposes.

Condo Unit Title Deed


After the ownership has been registered, the new owner will get a condo unit title deed. Each apartment unit in condo building has an ownership title deed issued by the Land Department. The title deed must among others contain the following information: position and location of the land and area of the land of the condo, position and location, area and plan of the apartment showing the width, length and height, ratio of the ownership of common property and voting rights, name and surname of the person having the ownership of the apartment unit, index for the registration of rights and juristic acts, signature, position and seal of the Competent Official. The transfer of the ownership of a condo and the title deed always takes place at the Land Department.

Overview Of Required Documents


When buying an existing or re-sale condo the seller must supply a letter of guarantee issued by the condominium juristic person that the condo falls within the 49% foreign ownership quota of the condo and a letter that there are no outstanding fees for the unit to the condominium juristic person. Other documents required at the transfer are the FET-form, the ID-cards or passports, a marriage or divorce certificate (if applicable) and a Land Office "Tor Dor 21" power of attorney if you are not going to the land office yourself for the transfer of ownership.

Summary


If you want more information on buying land in Thailand, buying a villa in Thailand, or on real estate due diligence please do not hesitate to contact Juslaws & Consult at our Bangkok or Phuket office to learn more.

SEND INQUIRY

Your Name

Your Phone Number

Your Email

Bangkok Phuket

Your Message

Security Code

Icon - Back to top